MID-MICHIGAN (WJRT) -- (10/18/10) -- If you're planning to drink Halloween weekend, will you get drunk or super drunk?
A new Michigan law defines the difference.
It's been dubbed the "Super Drunk" law, and those behind it hope it will reduce drunk driving. It carries harsher punishment for those not just drunk, but way over the legal limit.
The law takes effect Oct. 31 -- Halloween.
To be legally drunk in Michigan, one must register .08 on a breathalyzer.
Under the new law, drunk drivers with a level of .17 or higher will face harsher punishment. Jail time will be doubled, a drivers license will be revoked for a minimum 45 days. Drivers who register .17 or higher will also face mandatory alcohol treatment and costs that could reach as high as $10,000.
The law has been nicknamed the "Super Drunk " law but the technical name is "High Blood Alcohol Content Enhanced Penalty" law.
The National Highway Traffic Safety is behind it. More than 40 states already passed the law and Michigan is one of them.
Law enforcement says the effective date couldn't come at a better time.
"With the Halloween parties, things that go on, it is a time of year that we do have enhanced patrols out to combat drunk driving," Michigan State Police Lt. Stephen Spies said, "and the higher amount of parties that go on that weekend, and this law will go into effect on midnight."
The new law doesn't affect repeat drunk driving offenders.
Michigan 'Super Drunk' law goes into effect Oct. 31 | abc12.com